Today, MDM Recordings Inc. is thrilled to announce the second annual Henry Armstrong Award, a bursary and mentorship program created to develop, elevate, and support the diverse talents in the Canadian Indigenous music community. The Henry Armstrong Award (HAA) is open to all Indigenous musical artists across Canada (excluding residents of QC due to restrictions) and to all genres of music, with submissions opening March 28th and closing May 5th. Following the application window, a juried selection process will begin via a committee of Canadian music industry professionals, with the winner receiving a $10,000 bursary along with a tailored mentorship program of professional development services, announced on National Indigenous Peoples Day on June 21st.

The inaugural Henry Armstrong Award winner Kyle McKearney shared this about his experience, “winning the Henry Armstrong Award has been a game-changer for my career. This award has opened some huge doors for me and my team, and I couldn’t be more grateful for all of the opportunities it’s brought forth. I learned so much throughout the process, and I look forward to cheering on this year’s winner!

McKearney left an impression with the jury with his debut solo album Down-Home, and continues to make a name for himself as one of Canada’s newest and brightest voices in the Americana/Roots/Country music scenes.

Named for MDM Recordings Inc. president and founder Mike Denney’s grandfather Lloyd Henry and mother Gloria Denney (née Armstrong), both fellow Six Nations Lower Mohawk, The Henry Armstrong Award aims to provide unique opportunities for growth and development to the selected recipient, backed by a committee united with the goal of promoting inclusivity, equity, and equality in the Canadian Indigenous Music space and beyond.

The HAA icon was conceptualized and designed by Leticia Spence from Pimicikamak and Opaskwayak Cree Nation. Spence is a freelance graphic designer and illustrator based in Treaty One territory.

For more information and eligibility requirements for the Henry Armstrong Award, please visit

Related News